Sensoji Temple Travel information

Sensoji Temple

13tokyo-sensoji-temple

Introduction

Sensoji Temple (ó‘Ž›:Senso-ji) is the oldest temple in Tokyo and has a history of around 1400 years.
Sensoji Temple is also called "Asakusa Kannon" or "Asakusa no Kannon sama".

 

A popular spot for sightseeing in Tokyo, more than 30 million people visit every year.
A large number of worshipers visit every year during New Year holidays, and the number of worshipers is always within the 10th in Japan.

 

In the temple legend, the Kannon statue was discovered in 628 (Asuka Period).
There was a Kannon statue caught in the net of a brother who was fishing in the Sumida River. The two dumped this Kannon statue into the river and fished in different places. However, the fish could not be caught, and the Kannon statue was caught in the net even after discarding many times.
When they examined it, it turned out that this Kannon statue is a Sho Kanzeon Bosatsu statue.
These brothers went home and made their home a temple and worshiped the Kannon statue.
This is the beginning of Sensoji Temple.
Since then, Sensoji Temple has flourished as a place to pray for Minamoto no Yoritomo, Ashikaga Takauji and the Tokugawa Shogunate.

 

must-see sight

Kaminari gate

Kaminari gate (—‹–å:Kaminari-mon) is a gate at the entrance of Omotesando.
Known as the Asakusa symbol.
It was burned down in 1865 and a temporary gate was built.
In 1960, Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. (Panasonic) founder Konosuke Matsushita rebuilt.
The current gate is a reinforced concrete gate.
The famous lanterns are dedicated by Matsushita Electric Industrial.

 

Nakamise street

There is a shopping street called Nakamise street (’‡Œ©¢’Ê‚è:Nakamise-‚„ori) on both sides of the Omotesando, which is about 250 meters long, from Kaminari gate to Houzou gate.
The beginning of Nakamise is around 1685.
Nakamise Street is about 250 meters long and has about 90 shops.
Souvenirs, sweets and snacks are sold here.
Here, you can not eat snacks while walking, so eat at the front of the store.

 

Houzou Gate

Houzou Gate (•ó‘ –å:Houzou-mon/Niou Gate:m‰¤–å:Niou-mon) is a two-story gate.
In 1964, the businessman Mr. Yonetaro Otani rebuilt.
The current gate is a reinforced concrete gate.
sutra "Genban Issai-kyo (Œ³”ňêØŒo)" is stored in the Houzou Gate. (National important cultural properties)

 

Main hall

In the main hall (–{“°:Hon-do), a statue of Sho Kanzeon Bosatsu is enshrined.
For this reason, it is also called Kannon-do.
It was destroyed in World War II, but it was rebuilt in 1958 based on the former main hall.
The current main hall is reinforced concrete.

 

Five-story pagoda

A triple tower was built in 942.
After that, it was burned down and rebuilt many times, and it was built as a five-storied pagoda (ŒÜd“ƒ:Gojyu-no-tou) in 1648.
It was destroyed in World War II, but rebuilt in 1973.
The current five-story pagoda is reinforced concrete.

 

 

Access

- A 5-minute walk from "Asakusa Station" of Tokyo Metro Ginza Line / Toei Subway Asakusa Line / Tobu Line Tobu Isesaki Line

 

- Get off at Tsukuba Express Asakusa Station and walk 10 minutes

 

 

Related Web site

http://www.senso-ji.jp/ [Japanese]
by @‹³–@ló‘Ž›

 

Search

Unrelated images and videos may be displayed in search results.

Photo

Search photos of Sensoji Temple

 

Video

Search videos of Sensoji Temple

 

Souveni photo

Search photos of Sensoji Temple


yTemplez

Privacy & Terms
page top