Shoshazan Engyoji Temple Travel information

Shoshazan Engyoji Temple

28Himeji-Shoshazan-Engyoji-Temple

Introduction

Mount Shosha Engyoji Temple (‘›ŽRš’‹³Ž›: Shosha-zan Engyo-ji) is the most famous temple in Himeji city, called Mount Hieizan in the west.
It is a temple of Tendai sect opened by Saint Shoku (Shoku shonin) in 966.
It is located at the top of Mount Shosha (altitude 371m) and generally climbs using Mt.Shosya Ropeway.
There are six trails, and visitors can climb on foot.

 

28Himeji-Shoshazan-Engyoji-Temple-mapMount Shosha is about 8 km north of Himeji city area.
From JR Himeji Station, it takes about 30 minutes by bus to Mt.Shosya Ropeway.
The ride time of Mt.Shosya Ropeway is about 4 minutes.
The station of Ropeway is on the east side.

 

The grounds of Engyoji Temple extend east-west on the mountain top of Mount Shosha.
From the ropeway station, Niomon Gate is a 10-minute walk.
From Niomon Gate, Maniden is about a 10-minute walk.
From Maniden, Mitsunodo is about a 5-minute walk.
There is an observation deck on the top of the mountain, and you can overlook Himeji city area, Awaji Island and Shikoku Island.

 

It is also famous for being the location of the Hollywood movie "Last Samurai".
It is also the location of many Japanese movies and dramas.

 

In the precinct

There are many cultural assets designated by the country or prefecture in Mount Shosha.

 

Nio-mon Gate

28Himeji-Shoshazan-Engyoji-Temple-Niomon

It was rebuilt in 1617.

Two Nio Guardians, made during the Muromachi period, are enshrined.

 

Mani-den

28Himeji-Shoshazan-Engyoji-Temple-mani-den

Mani-den is similar to Kiyomizudera Temple in Kyoto.

It was rebuilt in 1933 as the old hall burned down in 1921.
A national designated important cultural property "wooden image Shitenno-ryuzo" (986) is enshrined.

 

Mitsu-no-do

Mitsu (three) -no-do is three buildings of "Daiko-do (main hall)", "Jiki-do" and "Jogyo-do".

28Himeji-Shoshazan-Engyoji-Temple-Daikodo

Daiko-do (main hall)

It is the main hall of Engyoji Temple.
It is a place of study and training where sutra's lectures and discussions take place.

 

Jiki-do

It is a building for eating and sleeping of monks.
The first floor is now the Sutra copying training hall, and the second floor is the pavilion of the treasure of Temple.
Jiki-do was left unfinished for hundreds of years, but was completed in 1959 when it was dismantled and repaired.

 

Jogyo-do

It is a training hall to play Jogyo Zanmai.
Jogyo Zanmai is a training that goes around the principal image, chanting Amitabha's name.

 

by himejicitych

 

Access

From JR E Sanyo Electric Railway Himeji Station
- Get off at Shinki Bus "Mt. Shosya Ropeway (‘ŽΚƒ[ƒvƒEƒFƒC)" (about 30 minutes)

 

 

Related Web site

http://www.shosha.or.jp/_en/
http://www.shosha.or.jp [Japanese]
by “V‘δ@•ΚŠi–{ŽR ‘›ŽRš’‹³Ž›

 

http://www.mt-shosha.info/en.html
http://www.mt-shosha.info/ [Japanese]
by Himeji City Mt. Shosha Ropeway

 

Search

Unrelated images and videos may be displayed in search results.

Photo

Search photos of Shoshazan Engyoji Temple

 

Video

Search videos of Shoshazan Engyoji Temple

 

Souveni photo

Search photos of Shoshazan Engyoji Temple


yTemplez

Privacy & Terms
page top